Netaji Mahavidyalaya: The Journey

During the period when India attained independence, Arambagh and its surroundings were a backward area, particularly in the field of formal education. Now-a-days this area has advanced a lot in this field. It did not happen automatically. It is the result of a prolonged and painstaking effort of many great leaders and social workers. Among them the name of Dr. Radha Krishna Pal comes uppermost to the mind. He founded many educational institutions, one of which is Netaji Mahavidyalaya.


Dr. Radha Krishna Pal


The history of this college goes back to the period of India’s independence. It was in 1948 that the college was established. For the first 9 years, however, it is affiliated to the Calcutta University as an intermediate college. In 1957, the college was upgraded to a degree college. In 1960, the year of foundation of the University of Burdwan, this college was affiliated to this varsity. Since then, with a gradual march the college has assumed its present status. Whereas in 1948, it started with only 96 students, its present roll strength is nearly 5747 having as many as 21 honours Departments. Besides, the college offers the facility of studying some rare courses like Plant Protection, Electronic Science, Physical Education and Six months’ certificate course in Joga. It is noteworthy to mention in this context that the Dept. of Bengali has been running Post Graduation Programme since 2008. Moreover, there are two distance education centers-IGNOU and NSOU. Students from different walks of life come to these Study Centers and get Certificate, Diploma, Under-graduate and Post-graduate degrees in different subjects. The College underwent reaccreditation (Second Cycle) by NAAC in 2015.



The college is situated at Kalipur, Ward No. 18, within the Arambagh Municipality on the western bank of the river Dwarakeswar, thus effecting a happy harmony of natural ambience and urban civilization. Arambagh, a town at the western-most part of Hooghly, is, in a way, the gateway of three districts. viz. Burdwan, Bankura and Midnapore. From Burdwan station to Arambagh is 42 kms. and from Tarakeswar station to Arambagh is 28 kms. by road. Apart from this unique geographical location, Arambagh has also a glorious heritage of its own by virtue of its beingassociated with the birth-places of the great sons of India, namely Raja Rammohan Roy, Iswar Chandra Vidyasagar and Ramakrishna Paramahansa Deb. At present Arambagh has been connected by the railways with Tarakeswar & Howrah and will very soon be connected with the temple town of Bishnupur.



The college has a tri-colour flag of its own, the green symbolizing youthful vitality, the red chivalry and sky-blue generosity. Inscribed on the emblem are the name, location and the year of foundation of the college and below it the golden motto of education– “Education is that which liberates us” (Sa Vidya Ya Vimuktaye).



The college has 21 under-graduate departments under Science, Arts and Commerce faculty offering both Honours and General courses for study.

  1. Science faculty: The faculty offers Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, Zoology, Botany, Geography, Computer Science, Computer Applications (BCA), Environmental Science & Economics for studies in both Honours and General courses and Plant Protection and Electronic Science for studies in General courses only.
  2. Arts faculty:It offers Bengali, English, Sanskrit, Education, Philosophy, Economics, History, Political Science, Santhali, Physical Education, Music, Mathematics and Geography for studies in Honours/General courses.
  3. Commerce faculty;Apart from Accountancy (Hons), Business Administration (BBA), the students have opportunity of selecting relevant subjects in General Course.